2016 inductees
  • Thursday, November 3, at 7:00 p.m. the Lambda Sigma Gamma chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 22 new members during their 82nd Annual Induction Ceremony. The ceremony took place in the Cambridge Central School auditorium and began with a procession of the chapter’s senior members.

    Vice-President Audrey Roosevelt began the service with the Pledge of Allegiance.  President Lynn Brownell welcomed the nearly 250 guests and introduced the four Principles of the Society.  Members emphasized the importance of each of the four Principles: Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Character.

    Secretary, Danielle Bovie, and Treasurer, Max Ratelle, introduced each new member as senior members escorted them from the audience to their seats on stage.  A candle lighting followed the tapping of the new members, and then all members stated their pledge to the Principles of the National Honor Society.  Each new member was presented with a National Honor Society membership card and pin.

    The new inductees for this year include: Emma Chinian, daughter of Matt Chinian and Alane Ball; Meghan Haynes, Daughter of George and Eileen Haynes; Delaney Hill, daughter of Mandy Meyer-Hill; Shyanne Sherwin, daughter of Robin Bacon and Matt Sherwin: Elisabeth Ashton-Facin, daughter of Kathy Ashton and Ken Facin; Leila Bruske, daughter of Lane Green and Edward Bruske;  Jonas Butz, son of Kellaine O’Malley and Steve Butz; Monica Espinosa, daughter of Silvia Espinosa; Forrest Gifford, son of Stephanie and Neil Gifford; Carter Hall, son of Amy Rainstrom and Robert Hall; Hailey Herrington, daughter of Debra and Donald Herrington; Maxwell Hoffer, son of Geoff and Christine Hoffer; Ian Montgomery, son of April and John Montgomery; Helen Mooney, daughter of Sarah Ashton and John Mooney;  Sadie Morin, daughter of Shannon and Gregory Morin; Bridey Nolan, daughter of Monica and Larry Nolan; Cameron Pembroke, nephew of Lisa Pembroke; Eli Robertson, son of Kristen Narkiewicz and David Robertson;  Genevieve Rossi, daughter of Margaret Surowka Rossi and Ralph Rossi; Grace Snyder, daughter of Carol Moore and James Snyder; Jamie VanDeWater, daughter of Jim and Lesa VanDeWater; and Ethan Young, son of Mary Jane and Joseph Young.

    Following the induction, Mrs. Silvernell, the High School Principal, shared her vision for the 22 new members of the chapter, encouraging them to promote positive change within the school and broader community.

    The National Honor Society members presented a Teacher Recognition Award to an outstanding teacher who exemplifies Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Character. Senior members Abigail Daniels and Danielle Bovie had the pleasure of presenting the award to Mr. Steve Butz whom students noted for his enthusiasm and dedication for incorporating real life experiences in the classroom. 

    Following the ceremony family, friends, teachers and administrators joined all members of the National Honor Society for a festive reception.  The Lambda Sigma Gamma Chapter of the National Honor Society would like to thank everyone who has supported us!  

    Congratulations to every member of the National Honor Society for all their achievements, now and evermore!

    The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. NHS serves to recognize those students who demonstrate excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.