honor society inductees
  • On Thursday, November 7, at 6:00 p.m. the Lambda Sigma Gamma chapter of the National Honor Society welcomed 20 new members during their 84th Annual Induction Ceremony.

    The ceremony was held in the Cambridge Central School auditorium and began with a procession of the chapter’s senior members. Vice President Cassandra Bovie then lead the Pledge of Allegiance and President Rhiannon Darling welcomed the full house of guests. In respective order, chapter members Emma Jerabek, Tre Rossi, Daniel Blanchfield and Alexander Hommel introduced and emphasized the importance of each of the four principles: Scholarship, LeadershipService and Character.

    Secretary Brecke Gifford and NHS member Victoria Vellucci, introduced each new member as senior members escorted them from the audience to their seats on stage. A candle lighting followed the tapping of the new members, and then all members stated their pledge to the Principles of the National Honor Society.  Each new member was presented with a National Honor Society membership card and pin.

    The new inductees for this year are: Eden Bailey, daughter of Peter and Jen Bailey; Julia Boyne, daughter of Heather Boyne and step-father Jared Towler; Shannon Brainerd, daughter of William and Melanie Brainerd; Jordan Brown, son of Rebecca Roth and step-father Chris Roth; Mallory Brownell, daughter of Jennifer and Chad Brownell; Stephanie Brownell, daughter of Steve and Adelin Brownell; Sarah Burke, daughter of Athena and Mike Burke; Charlotte Butz, daughter to Steve Butz and Kellaine O’Malley; R. Hunter Day, son of Paula and Rory Day; Anna Headwell, daughter to Teresa Headwell and Roy Headwell; Daniel Maquire, son of Jim and Cindy Maguire; Abigail Maher, daughter of Sarah Valentine-Maher and Kevin Maher; Parker Robertson, son of Stephen and Danielle Robertson; Matthew Romack, son of Michael and Irene Romack; Alice Roosevelt, daughter of Jessica and Peter Roosevelt; Alyssa Rowland, daughter to Julie and Lawrence Rowland; Calvin Schneider, son of Don Schneider and Tracy Schneider; Gabrielle Wilbur, daughter of Jessica and Matthew Wilbur Dominic Williams, son of Alicia Williams and Wade Williams; and Nethanel Woodcock, son of Kate Cruz and Tim Woodcock and step-son to Angel Cruz and Mary Baker.

    Following the induction, High School Principal Caroline Goss, shared her vision for the 20 new members of the chapter, encouraging them to promote positive change within the school and broader community.

    The National Honor Society members presented a Teacher Recognition Award to an outstanding teacher who exemplifies Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Character. Senior members Lizzy Townes and Julia Salisbury had the pleasure of presenting the award to Mr. Bruce Sausville, a long-time math teacher at Cambridge Central School.  Students recognized Mr. Sausville’s kindness, willingness to help and sense of humor as a few of the reasons he deserved this year’s teacher recognition award.

    The musical selection for the evening was provided by Mr.Nick Jancek. Science teacher Mrs. Stephanie Gifford is the chapter’s advisor.

    Following the ceremony family, friends, teachers and administrators joined all members of the National Honor Society for a festive reception.  The Lambda Sigma Gamma Chapter of the National Honor Society would like to thank everyone who supported us and helped make our evening so special!  

    The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. NHS serves to recognize those students who demonstrate excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.