Home » National Honor Society inducts 11 new members

National Honor Society inducts 11 new members

On Wednesday, Nov. 1, the Lambda Sigma Gamma Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 11 new members. The induction ceremony was held in the Cambridge Central School (CCS) auditorium and was attended by friends and family members of the inductees and current members, as well as CCS faculty and staff members.

Congratulations to the newly-inducted members!


  • Averi Benson
  • Julia Flint
  • Ella Hunt
  • Hannah Keller
  • Nicole LaFountain
  • Elijah Lulla
  • Deacon Schneider
  • Marguerite Steele
  • Kelly Sweet
  • Claire Toleman
  • Brailyn Wright

Current members

  • Anna Bailey
  • Coral Boehlke
  • Brice Burr
  • Samantha Crandall
  • Isabelle Flint
  • Ezden Koopmann
  • Mason MacDougall
  • Kateri Murphy
  • Adeline Record
  • Nicole Robinson
  • Josha Roopnarine
  • Jackson Thomas

The National Honor Society is advised by Mrs. Stephanie Gifford. “Every year, the induction reminds me how fortunate I am, as adviser, to work with such an amazing group of students,” said Gifford. “No words can adequately convey how much I appreciate each member and all they do to make our school, local and larger communities a better place. This past August, we helped welcome rising 7th graders into the high school. Last year, we assisted with the first annual Cambridge Valley Turkey Trot, staffed an aid station for the Tour of the Battenkill bike race, collected household items for the Rescue Squads’ community donations and more. Next month, we plan on holding a Santa’s Workshop for approximately 20 CCS elementary students. I look forward to continuing this work and more throughout the rest of the year.”

The National Honor Society (NHS) elevates a school’s commitment to the values of scholarship, service, leadership and character. These four pillars have been associated with membership in the organization since its inception in 1921. This year marked Cambridge’s 89th annual induction ceremony.

In addition to the student induction, each year NHS students select one faculty or staff member to be recognized at the ceremony. This year, high school math teacher JT Sawyer was recognized. Congratulations, Mr. Sawyer!

“As we gathered to induct our outstanding students into the National Honor Society, we celebrated not only their academic achievements but also their commitment to leadership, service and the highest standards of character, said Caroline Goss, secondary principal. Their induction into the NHS is a testament to their dedication to excellence in all aspects of their lives. The Cambridge National Honor Society students, among others, will continue to be role models in our school community, and their actions will inspire others to strive for greatness. Congratulations to each of our students for this well-deserved honor, and may your journey through the NHS be a source of personal growth and positive change for our society.”

NHS inductees
NHS inductees
From left: Ella Hunt, JT Sawyer (faculty recipient), Deacon Schneider
From left: Ella Hunt, JT Sawyer (faculty recipient), Deacon Schneider
Current NHS members and inductees
Current NHS members and inductees
, ,